We shall be providing more information about the exciting and varied history of Nettlestead Place here in due course so please do remember to revisit this page. In the meantime, we hope you find the following information of some interest.
The Domesday Book of 1086, was commissioned by William the Conqueror King of England, to assess the extent of the land and resource ownership in England at the time and the extent of the taxes he could raise. It included the manor of Nettlestead Place, then owned by William the Conqueror’s half-brother Odo, the Earl of Kent and Bishop of Bayeux in Northern France and second in power after the King of England. Manors were typically noted as being very compact, centered around a church and separated by open land. Nettlestead Place appears to have been not unusual in this respect with the Saxon origin St Mary’s Church, immediately adjacent to it.
By the 12th Century, the manor was owned by the de Wahull family who were responsible for much of the medieval part of the house, including the stunning Undercroft which was built about 1250. Then in 1292 the de Pympe family took over from the de Wahulls until the 16th century when the house was passed by marriage into the Scott family.
Nettlestead Place was then abandoned during the second half of the 17th century. In 1913, the abandoned house was bought by Ronald Vinson who between 1920 and 1922 built onto the medieval range to make the house as it appears today
The present owners, Roy and Annabel Tucker have lived in Nettlestead Place since 1978 and have with much passion, rejuvenated and much extended the gardens and grounds.